Craig Finn – Preludes

Okay, it’s been a bit since I posted and I hate when bloggers bring that to your attention and then proceed to apologize, like anyone actually cares really. But my excuse is that I have had a hard time finding a new song that inspired me enough. I don’t like posting crap just for posting’s sake. So, that’s the deal.

Anyway, I decided to move forward even though we’re in a slump: a rash of bad songs recently hitting the bandwidths. It happens. Bad music, bad moods, bad hair days…You know how it goes.

But I like this song. I’ve been digging Craig for a couple of years now. He used to be a member of the band Hold Steady. Loved his song, Newmyer’s Roof and fell in love with his writing skills. A friend of mine I introduced him to remarked that he reminded him of Springsteen and that was my very first thought too and now I see that distinction pointed out all over the music blogs and comments.

The thing about his songs is that you kind of have to wait for it. Listen a few times, then it hits you. He builds his songs pretty steadily with nice rhythmic beats and then hooks you at the end instead of with the chorus or bridge. And I dig his lyrics. They’re heartfelt and deep even though they seem to skim the surface images of his experience. He paints pictures of American culture. He shares a sense of place and story that grows on you. (Oh, and he’s definitely a little Elvis Costello, too.)

Finn says this is one of his most autobiographical songs: “…this was what I remember 1994 being like, coming back to the Twin Cities after being away for college. It’s a time in my life that I felt most adrift, but there was also a feeling of wonder in being out of step and alone. This is the song that is closest to being autobiographical, but I think it fits with these other character studies. I was trying to figure out my place in a world that didn’t seem to have a lot of room for me.”

I can totally relate. 1994 was a lot like that for me too.

His solo album including this song, We All Want The Same Things, just came out March 24th.

This is a great song to listen to while on a road trip to see old friends. 

Lyrics:

Well the gangsters drove Preludes and sold this one weed called White Tiger
Wirth Park had a body
The holiday guy couldn’t make change
The parking lot scene still existed, but not without problems
I came back to St. Paul and things had progressed and got strange

I got stuck in a snowbank
I was too drunk to drive to Edina
Right there is proof of my faith that God watches us
And the North Stars went south
And my friends all went out to Seattle
I stuck around town
Hit the bars then wait for the bus

And the guys at Northeast ride bicycles up to the market
Fish take to water but licenses they get revoked
And the writing on walls in the stalls in the bathroom says “Cindy’s so easy”
But I’ve never met Cindy, besides it might be a joke
Fish take to water but licenses they get revoked

I got stuck in a snowbank
I was too drunk to drive to Edina
Right there is proof of my faith that God watches us
And the North Stars went south
And my friends all went out to Seattle
I stuck around town
Hit the bars then wait for the bus

I was down on the trails by the river when this guy jumped out
He was waving a pistol
I consider my options
Decided to do what he said
He went through my jacket and found all my packets and matches
He lit up a cig and put the Kryptonite over my head

I was knocked out down in the mud too heavy to float off to Memphis
The crust from the camps they pulled me awake with a stick
Made coffee over a campfire
I described my attacker
They patched up my wounds, showed me a place to get sick
They patched up my wounds, showed me a place to get sick

I got stuck in a snowbank
And God watches us
We got into the Preludes
And God watches us
God watches us

Music and lyrics by Craig Finn

Author: Tiffany's Jukebox

Hey, guys! I am excited to share new musical finds with you. I focus mainly on the Adult Alternative genre, but not exclusively. Anything that sounds good to me is pretty fair game. I am a music lover from birth and really feel like great music rounds out your life. I have a brief history of working in the music industry, have been dabbling in songwriting and just really want to share stuff with people who are searching for new music like I always seem to be. I hope you enjoy it. It should be a fun blog and I welcome your feedback/comments. If you really feel like a song is terrific or that it just plain sucks, let me know. Let's geek out on music together.

Leave a Reply

