Bridget Kearney – Wash Up

This song has been spinning around on Music Choice (cable TV’s only redeeming factor anymore) for a couple weeks now and every time I hear it, my ears perk up. It stands out. The vocals are soft and steady and have a strumming quality to them, which contrasts the heavier lyrics, really. And although it sounds like a kind of upbeat song, her vocals have a sorrow to them. It’s about her not being able to save her lover or the relationship and in the video, we see her just running over the course of a whole day. She’s trying to get it out of her system that this guy ruined her self esteem on some level and she’s just trying to wash him out of her mind and “what you left inside of me.” She starts in the city and by nightfall, ends up at the ocean and we see what a journey the relationship has been for her. We all have to learn what it is that we are supposed to learn about ourselves through others. Maybe that’s the only way we can unlock parts of ourselves, through that key that only a stranger holds. That’s why it’s always worth it. No matter what.

Lyrics:

Honey, you look so washed-up
Still with those wandering hands
You must be hitting hard stuff
And you got me wondering why
I ever thought we would be happy
Oh my god, I loved you madly
The reflection reflects badly
Upon me
What I should have seen

Honey, you look so disheveled
You really let yourself go
You used to seem like a rebel
And now it’s more like joke
And you might think you make me happy
After things ended so badly
But I just can’t believe you had me
To the bone
When I should have known

So wash up
And wash over me
And wash out
What you made me be
Wash up
Wash out to sea
Wash up
What you left inside of me

Honey, you look so washed up
It’s really breaking my heart
Thought I could pull you together
But you pulled me apart
I thought I could pull you together
But you pulled me apart

So wash up
And wash over me
And wash up
What you made me be
Wash up
Wash out to sea
Wash up
What you left inside of me

Wash out to sea
Wash out to sea
Wash out to sea
Wash out to sea

Author: Tiffany's Jukebox

Hey, guys! I am excited to share new musical finds with you. I focus mainly on the Adult Alternative genre, but not exclusively. Anything that sounds good to me is pretty fair game. I am a music lover from birth and really feel like great music rounds out your life. I have a brief history of working in the music industry, have been dabbling in songwriting and just really want to share stuff with people who are searching for new music like I always seem to be. I hope you enjoy it. It should be a fun blog and I welcome your feedback/comments. If you really feel like a song is terrific or that it just plain sucks, let me know. Let's geek out on music together.

Leave a Reply

