A Little Throwback Thursday

This song pretty much sums up my life. I remember how profound the moment was when I discovered it. We were driving back from Christmas Eve dinner with my grandparents and my parents had this horrendous fight that almost killed all of us. My dad nearly drove off the highway and when it all finally calmed down, I remember sitting in the back seat of the mini van and this song coming on. In the first few bars of this song, I knew I would never allow any of this to affect me. Nor would I allow people to ever get me that unhinged. It was a solitary vow from that moment on.

This song is great to listen to when you’re done with people’s bullshit.

Lyrics

A winter’s day
In a deep and dark
December
I am alone
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow
I am a rock
I am an island

I’ve built walls
A fortress deep and mighty
That none may penetrate
I have no need of friendship, friendship causes pain
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain
I am a rock
I am an island

Don’t talk of love
But I’ve heard the words before
It’s sleeping in my memory
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died
If I never loved I never would have cried
I am a rock
I am an island

I have my books
And my poetry to protect me
I am shielded in my armor
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb
I touch no one and no one touches me
I am a rock
I am an island

And a rock feels no pain
And an island never cries

Written by Paul Simon • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group
Author: Tiffany's Jukebox

Hey, guys! I am excited to share new musical finds with you. I focus mainly on the Adult Alternative genre, but not exclusively. Anything that sounds good to me is pretty fair game. I am a music lover from birth and really feel like great music rounds out your life. I have a brief history of working in the music industry, have been dabbling in songwriting and just really want to share stuff with people who are searching for new music like I always seem to be. I hope you enjoy it. It should be a fun blog and I welcome your feedback/comments. If you really feel like a song is terrific or that it just plain sucks, let me know. Let's geek out on music together.

Leave a Reply

